top of page
  • Writer's pictureShane Ryan

Getting Back into Painting

Updated: Jan 9, 2023


Website has moved to shaymurai.wordpress.com

Please head there, thanks!



Painted.

Grey plastic.

The issue that divides our hobby.



I seen a facebook post the other day, some people being upset that painting wasnt a requirement at a tournament.

And then another post with people being upset it was required at another tournament.

Then we have the 3D printed 40k army winning a tournament.



This post isn't going to get into the fors and against of either side, but those posts made me aware of the fact I had been a bit slack with my own painting of late.



So for me, painting is the hobby aspect I struggle to actually sit down and do, it's not that I dislike painting, and I dont think I'm terrible at it necessarily either, I just struggle to get going.

Once I get going I'll normally spend the whole day painting, but, most the time I dont have an entire free day, which results in me just skimping out on painting.



So this time I tried something different.

I left my painting station set up all week and just had 15 minutes to maybe 2 hour long painting sessions.

And impressively enough in 3 sessions I had a box set for malifaux all painted, including washed, drybrushed and based.

Now I havent gotten around to picking up any contrast paints yet either so I can only imagine that would speed up the process further.



Of course, these miniatures weren't my best work - but I also hadn't painted in a long time and was a bit out of practice, so here's to hopefully getting more of my grey hordes painted.



I've attached some pictures here of the Lucas McCabe crew I got painted this week.



Hopefully my next ones turn out a bit better, but these are still definitely table top standard and far better than being left grey!









52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Painting after work

Website has moved to shaymurai.wordpress.com Please head there! Thanks!

bottom of page