top of page
  • Writer's pictureShane Ryan

Malifaux Third Edition Released and first impressions

Updated: Jan 9, 2023


Website has now moved to shaymurai.wordpress.com please have a look over there :)




So, its been about 2 weeks since Malifaux 3rd Edition dropped,

And lets just say,

I'm a fan.

So, I dropped out of the Malifaux world approximately 2 years ago due to life commitments. Then about 3 months ago I was flirting with the idea of dropping back in,

And this was where I first heard that M3E was dropping.

I'm not going to lie,

I was scared.

Around the time I left M2E people where talking about the day M3E might be released as almost a doomsday.

The attitude toward a new edition was relatively hostile back then, on top of that;

I loved M2E and thought it was nearly perfect.

But I decided to hold off until M3E and that I would give it a go.

As the release got closer I ordered some models.

While I was awaiting their arrival the rules for M3E dropped,

I read over the rulebook and a few dozen cards,

I wasn't feeling overly jazzed.

But I did my best to not get disheartened, I trusted the team at Wyrd.

My models arrived, I did some assembly.

Organized a game.

Took a deep breath.

And wow.

All my fears where alleviated, the simplicity I felt from the rulebook was not as bland as I feared. Things flowed fluidly, the apparent lack of stat variations that made me worry every model would feel the same couldn't be further from the truth.

Every model feels more unique, despite the sharing of keywords.

After that first game, we quickly played another.

And for the last week I have breathed Malifaux,

Ordering more models, assembling more, scouring stat cards and the "A Wyrd Place" Facebook group.

I would say the overall reception of M3E has been good,

Sure some people are a bit upset with late deliveries,

Some people are unhappy with certain changes, but, that is life. You cannot please everyone.

But, from someone who was afraid of this new edition, and was struggling to keep an open mind, Wyrd, you have done well.

Malifaux is back in my life, and I couldn't be more glad!






337 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Painting after work

Website has moved to shaymurai.wordpress.com Please head there! Thanks!

bottom of page